Harrison County Rollover Car Accident Lawyer
Accidents where vehicles overturn can be some of the most serious kinds of crashes, often resulting in fatalities and catastrophic injuries to the occupants. When another motorist’s negligence causes a rollover car accident, a Harrison County rollover car accident lawyer could help you file a personal injury lawsuit against the responsible driver. A qualified car accident attorney could review the facts of the case to identify who was at fault in causing the accident and pursue monetary damages on your behalf.
Common Injuries from a Rollover Car Wreck
Many severe injuries may be caused by rollover accidents, even when occupants are using safety restraints. Occupants could suffer from spinal cord injuries, fractures, head trauma, scarring, and disfigurement.
Soft tissue damage, bruises, and lacerations are also injuries that may be suffered in a Harrison County rollover car crash. Individuals who are ejected from a rolling vehicle may be permanently injured or killed when they strike the ground or objects nearby.
What Compensation Can be Requested After a Rollover Crash?
When the negligence of a Harrison county driver causes a rollover car crash, a skilled attorney could help those injured seek financial damages from the at-fault party. In some cases, a vehicle defect may have caused the rollover collision. When that happens, the liable parties could include the car manufacturer and the entities responsible for making and designing the defective part.
To successfully bring a claim of negligence against the responsible party, the plaintiff would be required to establish the legal elements of negligence — duty, breach, causation, and damages. The injured individual may be entitled to numerous forms of financial recovery, including:
- Past and future lost wages
- Past and future medical expenses
- Physical Pain and suffering
- Emotional Distress and Anxiety
What is the Deadline to File a Civil Lawsuit in Harrison County?
The statute of limitations establishes a strict time limit on an injured individual’s right to bring a lawsuit. Mississippi Code §15-1-49 states that plaintiffs have three years from the date of the accident to pursue a legal remedy for injury or harm caused by another party in most cases. If the person who caused the wreck was a government employee, any claim may have to be brought within only one year.
It is vital for an injury victim to understand and abide by the statutory deadlines applicable to their situation. If he or she tries to file a lawsuit after the statutory deadline has already passed, the court may dismiss their case, barring the injured individual from any compensation. A Harrison County attorney could help a rollover car wreck victim file his or her civil claim on time.
Comparative Negligence in Rollover Auto Accident Cases
Under Miss. Code. Ann. §11-7-15, Mississippi adheres to the pure comparative negligence rule when assigning fault. This means that if the party injured was more than 50 percent responsible for the rollover car crash that caused their losses, a Harrison County attorney could still recover damages on their behalf.
However, the plaintiff’s damage award would be reduced according to their assigned share of negligence. For instance, if a jury finds the plaintiff 10 percent responsible for the rollover crash, he or she could recover a maximum of 90 percent of their total damages.
Speak with a Harrison County Rollover Car Accident Attorney
If you were recently involved in a rollover auto collision, a Harrison County rollover car accident lawyer could help you fight for the compensation that you need and deserve. While there is no amount of financial recovery that could fully account for the pain and stress you experienced, compensation could help you overcome financial burdens and get back on your feet. Call to schedule a free no-obligation consultation.