Harrison County Drunk Driving Car Accident Lawyer
Victims injured by a drunk driver may be eligible to pursue compensation for their injuries and other losses. A Harrison County drunk driving car accident lawyer could aggressively pursue justice for accident victims and fight for the fair compensation they are due. A seasoned car accident attorney could help you manage the paperwork and handle interactions with the insurance company, so you can focus on healing and moving forward with your life.
Harrison County Drunk Driving Laws
When someone is involved in a car crash involving a drunk motorist, a lawyer in Harrison County could help hold that person accountable for his or her actions. Mississippi Code §63-11-30 makes driving under the influence of alcohol illegal, and a conviction could serve as powerful evidence of negligent and reckless conduct in a civil drunk driving accident case.
With the help of a qualified attorney, injured victims could hold drunk drivers accountable for their negligent actions and seek the compensation they need to move on.
Types of Damages
A Harrison County lawyer could help individuals injured in a drunk driving car collision recover compensation for both economic and non-economic losses. Economic damages could include lost income, medical bills, hospital expenses, property damage, and the cost of future treatment. Non-economic damages refer to more subjective forms of harm, such as loss of enjoyment of life, emotional distress, anxiety, pain, suffering, and inconvenience.
In addition, punitive damages could be awarded above and beyond economic and non-economic costs if the plaintiff can prove that the harmful action that caused his or her injuries was intentionally dangerous or reckless. Punitive damages are intended to punish a defendant for particularly egregious wrongdoing and deter similar actions in the future. Mississippi law imposes a cap on non-economic damages and punitive damages in a car accident settlement under Miss. Code Ann. § 11-1-60(2)(a) and §11-1-65, respectively.
Currently, the non-economic damage cap is $1,000,000 for all civil cases (except medical malpractice, which is $500,000). Punitive damage caps are calculated a little differently, as they are based on the defendant’s net worth. An experienced Harrison County attorney could help drunk driving crash victims understand their legal rights and exhaust all available options for financial recovery.
Time Limits to File DUI Wreck Claim
Miss. Code. Ann. §15-1-49 requires injured individuals to bring a lawsuit within a certain period, known as the statutory deadline. In the state of Mississippi, the limit is three years for most wreck cases, both for injuries to persons and for property damage. If the plaintiff attempts to file a lawsuit after the expiration of the statutory window, he or she could be permanently barred from recovering financial compensation.
Seek Help from a Harrison County Drunk Driving Car Accident Attorney
If you get hurt in a collision with a drugged or intoxicated driver, a Harrison County drunk driving car accident lawyer could be the advocate you need to obtain a successful outcome for your claim. You may qualify for compensation to cover your medical bills, time lost from work, pain, suffering, and more. Contact our office today to schedule your first consultation for free.